Deirdre Madden


Deirdre Madden was born in 1960 in County Antrim.
Among her many awards are the Hennessey Award for Short Fiction 1979; The Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, 1987; The Somerset Maugham Award, 1989; The Kerry Ingredients Book of the Year Award, 1997; and Writer Fellow at Trinity College Dublin, 1996-1997. One by One in the Darkness was shortlisted for the Orange Prize. She lives in Ireland and France.

Hidden Symptoms (Faber & Faber 1986)
The Birds of the Innocent Wood (Faber & Faber 1988)
Remembering Light and Stone (Faber & Faber 1993)
Nothing Is Black (Faber & Faber 1994)
One by One in the Darkness (Faber & Faber 1996)
Authenticity (Faber & Faber 2002)
Snake’s Elbows (Faber & Faber 2005)
Thanks for Telling Me, Emily (Faber & Faber 2007)
Molly Fox’s Birthday (Faber & Faber 2008)