Eoin McNamee


Eoin McNamee was born in Kilkeel, County Down, in 1961. He was educated in various schools in the North of Ireland and at Trinity College, Dublin. He has lived in Dublin, London and New York. He also writes under the name ‘John Creed’.

He has written novels based around historic events of the last half century. These have ranged from Resurrection Man, which examined the killings of the UVF gang the Shankill Butchers through to Orchid Blue, which was based on the events surrounding the last hanging in Ireland, of Robert McGladdery at Crumlin Road Gaol in 1961. He also wrote the screenplay for the film version of Resurrection Man, directed by Michael Winterbottom in 1998.

Apart from these novels he has written several series of novels for young adults as well as a series of espionage thrillers under the name of John Creed.

He was awarded the Macauley Fellowship for Irish Literature in 1990.

The Last of Deeds, (Raven Arts Press 1989),which was shortlisted for the 1989 Irish Times/Aer Lingus Award for Irish Literature
The last of Deeds and Love in History (Penguin 1992 and Picador 1995)

Resurrection Man (Picador 1994), finalist for the 1996 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction
The Blue Tango (Faber & Faber 2001)
The Ultras (Faber & Faber 2004)
12:23: Paris, 31 August 1997 (Faber & Faber 2007).
Orchid Blue (Faber and Faber 2010)
Blue is the Night (Faber and Faber 2014)

Young Adults Fiction
The Navigator (HarperCollins Children’s Books 2006)
The City of Time (HarperCollins Children’s Books 2008)
The Frost Child (Yearling Books 2010)
The Ring of Five (Quercus 2010)
The Unknown Spy (Quercus 2011)
The Ghost Roads (Quercus 2012)

Writing as John Creed
The Sirius Crossing (Faber & Faber 2003)
The Day of the Dead (Faber & Faber 2004)
Black Cat, Black Dog (Faber & Faber 2007)

Film Scripts
Resurrection Man (1998, Directed by Michael Winterbottom)
I Want You (1998, Directed by Michael Winterbottom)
An Bronntanas (2014, Directed by Tom Collins)