John Montague


John Montague was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1929. At the age of four he was sent to live with his father’s sisters at Garvaghey, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland.

Since the early 1970s Cork has been his home, along with a home in Nice, France. He was educated at St. Patrick’s College, Armagh, University College Dublin and Yale. He has worked as the Paris correspondent for the Irish Times. The inaugural Ireland Professor of Poetry and a member of Aosdána.

A strong theme in Montague is the sense of a great tradition lost.

Selected Poetry:
Forms of Exile, Dolmen Press, 1958
Poisoned lands, MacGibbon & McKee 1961
Home Again (Belfast: Festival Publications 1966)
A Chosen Light, MacGibbon & McKee 1967
The Planter and the Gael w John Hewitt (N. Ireland Arts Council 1970)
Tides, Dolmen Press 1970
The Rough Field, Dolmen Press 1972
A Slow Dance, Dolmen Press 1975
The Great Cloak, Dolmen Press 1978
The Dead Kingdom, Dolmen Press, 1984
Mount Eagle, Gallery Press, 1988
Time in Armagh, Gallery Press, 1993
Collected Poems, Wake Forest, 1995
Smashing the Piano, Gallery Press, 1999
Selected Poems, Penguin, 2001
Drunken Sailor Wake Forest, 2005
The Rough Field, Wake Forest University Press, 2005
In My Grandfather’s Mansion.” (Signed Limited Edition), The Gallery Press, 2010
Speech Lessons (poems) The Gallery Press, 2011
New Collected Poems The Gallery Press, 2012

Selected Fiction:
Death of A Chieftain, McGibbon & Kee, London, 1964
The Lost Notebook, Mercier Press, Cork, 1987
A Love Present, Wolfhound Press, Dublin, 1999

Selected Memoirs:
Born in Brooklyn, White Pine Press, New York, 1991
Company, Duckworth, London, 2001
The Pear Is Ripe, Liberties, Dublin 2007

Selected Works as Editor or Translator:
Faber Book Of Irish Verse, Faber, London, 1974
Bitter Harvest: An Anthology of Contemporary Irish Verse, Scribners, New York 1989
November, A Choice of Translations from Andre Frenaud (with Evelyn Robson), Dolmen Dublin, 1972
A Smile Between The Stones, translations from Sur La Dernière Lande by Claude Esteban, Agenda Editions, London, 2004